There should be a setting that when you close the email a dialog box comes up to ask if you want to permanently delete deleted mail. This will keep the folder empty. I forget to enpty the deleted and it gets a lot in it.
Steve shared this idea
No mails are not coming from 12 april 2020.
Help link & feedback link are ending page not found